Selection Process

Before the start of each season a defined timeline of key announcement dates will be established. The preseason award Watch List will be selected from nominations submitted by the sports information directors of each Division I school. The Watch List will be announced at the annual SPORTyler Football Kickoff Luncheon held each year in late August in Tyler. Each week during the regular season, an Earl Campbell Tyler Rose National Player of the Week will be selected leading up to the finalists announcement in December.

The Earl Campbell Tyler Rose Award Selection Committee will be comprised of Texas-based journalists and college football dignitaries and, in subsequent years, each of the all-time winners. This year, the selection committee will narrow the field to up to 16 semifinalists in November and up to five finalists in December. The recipient of the award will be announced in January.

The 2016 Earl Campbell Tyler Rose Award recipient and finalists will be recognized at the gala announcement banquet to be held January 11, 2017 in Tyler. The winner will receive a unique trophy sculpted by noted artist Ken Bjorge.